Tehran University of Medical Sciences

Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS), founded in 1851 as Dar-ol-Fonoon , is the oldest medical centre in Iran. With a history of more than 160 years, it stands as one of the most prestigious universities of medical sciences in the region. It brings together a community of faculty, students and staff who provide education, conduct research and take the lead in public service initiatives in Iran. It focuses on creating new therapies for a broad array of medical issues related to the community's health and well-being. TUMS graduates and professional schools express the university's commitment to research, rigorous standards and innovative application of knowledge. TUMS is accredited by Accreditation Services for International Colleges (ASIC) as a "premier university". TUMS consists of 12 Schools, more than 80 research centres, 15 scientific pivots, nine educational and health research stations in nine provinces, five technology incubator centres, 16 hospitals with 7,000 active beds and 44 libraries. It offers specialized undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. TUMS is a large university. One of the many advantages of its size is that it can offer a wide range of courses. Admission to TUMS is granted without regard to race, color, religion, gender or national origin. TUMS admits by field of study and degree, and, when you apply, you must indicate your interest in a major and degree. Residency and fellowship programs are also offered to international students. The academic schedule at TUMS is semester-based. The fall semester begins in September and ends in January. The spring semester begins in February and ends in June. All international students will be admitted to start at the beginning of each semester.


  • Moheb Yas Women's General Hospital.
  • Amir A'lam Hospital.
  • Arash Women's Hospital
  • Baharloo Hospital.
  • Bahrami Children's Hospital.
  • Cancer Institute.
  • Children's Medical Center (Hospital)
  • Farabi Hospital
  • Imam Khomeini Hospital
  • Razi hospital
  • Roozbeh Hospital
  • Shariati Hospital
  • Sina Hospital
  • Tehran Heart Center
  • Vali-e-Asr Hospital
  • Ziayiyan Hospital